Southern Africa is the most active region under the Confederation of African Football providing a competitive platform for two age groups teams – the Under-17 and the Under-20 as well as the COSAFA Women’s tournament.

Zimbabwe is set to host this year’s Council for Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) Women’s football championship scheduled for August to September.

This is the third time that Zimbabwe plays host to the Cosafa Womens’ football tournament, having hosted the event in 2002 and 2011.

Zambia and Angola played host to the championships in 2006 and 2008 respectively.

South Africa has won the most titles with three wins in 2002, 2006 and 2008.

Zimbabwe has one title win it registered in 2011.

Eight Southern African nations will battle out for the 2017 title during the tournament which will be held in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe’s second largest city.

Bulawayo  has three stadia – Luveve, White City and Barbourfields Stadium.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s